top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHelen B

Willing and Stable

Hello! It's been a while. So, since my last blog a few things have happened. Starting with the most important; Mark and me went to Leicester to get the results of my first CT scan whilst on this trial. The results; stable. No growth, no spread. It's funny because I had prepared myself so much for all eventualities I didn't quite know how to react to that. Everyone on the Hope trials unit seemed very happy with it and I ran into Walter (likes to be called Brian) and he was thrilled for me too. So we carry on with treatment and now I only have to go to Leicester every 3 weeks, it's a shame really, I was thinking of asking for citizenship I was there that much!


Another thing that happened was I passed my motorbike test! That meant I could trade my hairdryer (Honda 125cc) in for a big machine! So I opted for a BMW F900XR. I can only tell you that every time I start her up and go for a ride I smile constantly! It's just so much fun! Roll on the spring/summer so I can take her out more. She needs a name, answers on a postcard! I also bought a new car because my Mini (2L turbo) was getting difficult to get into with the pain so I opted for an Audi Q2 (sensible car!) When I picked the car up the fella in the car garage said "are you exited" I said "yes" "but only because I'm taking the car home and going out on my motorbike!"


What else; I was interviewed by the BBC for a health programme that will air late spring early summer next year. Lily had some WW2 homework: the breif was to make an Anderson shelter replica. We totally got our papier-mâché on and nailed it! Me and Maddy went to a teenager painting class (I was totes gate crashing!), turns out I'm not too shabby on the artistic front! I had a meal out with my ACCP buddies to give them some farewell gifts since retiring (the garden centre won't have it that I'm a pensioner to get their pensioner discount, something ridiculous about be older, I told them I was a YAP!). And finally Me and Jane went down to Windsor for my 40th birthday pressie from her. We toured Windsor castle like proper tourists, headsets the lot! We stayed in an exceptional hotel (next door to Elton John!), and on the evening we went to The Fat Duck in Bray, which is one of Heston Blumenthals restaurants. It was amazing! I've turned into a bit of a foodie in my old age and I'm trying to make my way round as many Michelin star restaurants as I can! 5 down 152 to go!


So, busy few weeks! I also have been investigating where I could have possible been exposed to asbestos along with my solicitor Charlie. We are in the process of formulating a press release to ask for help from anyone who was with me at the time in any of the the following;


Schools:

Brambles Primary School 1985-1992 Keldholme Comprehensive 1992-1998

Middlesbrough College (Acklam Hall Campus) 1998-1999

Teesside Tertiary College 1999-2001


Work:

Middlesbrough General Hospital 2000-2004.

South Cleveland Hospital now James Cook University Hospital 2000-2022.


If you do have any information that you think would be helpful and you are willing to; please contact Charlie at Thompsons Solicitors via email on: CharlieBradley@thompsons.law

Or by telephone:

0113 205 6385

alternatively you can message me via email on:


Any information is gratefully received.





603 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page