top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHelen B

Cycle 1. The Big Smoke

So cycle 1 is almost done, and what a few weeks it's been!


A few days after treatment I ended up in hospital. I had an episode of rigors (violent shaking from having a temperature) and breathlessness. Luckily it all settled and I was only there for the day, I ran into my lovely friend Lorraine who was there having chemo and saw my name on the board, she's recently married and was telling us all about newly married life.


The weekend was then cancelled, we had tickets to see an Irish band on St. Patrick's day and I had plans to go out with my girlfriends on our annual Mother's Day trip to Whitby on Saturday. They took beermats with my face on (from my 40th birthday party) so I kind of felt like I was there in spirit!! I managed to get out for lunch on Mother's Day (Sunday) with the girls and Mark which was nice, all ready for another dose of chemotherapy on the Tuesday.


On Wednesday we went to The Big Smoke! I think the steroids carried me this day because I actually felt ok. Steroids reduce the chance of allergic reactions to cancer treatments but they also increase appetite, reduce inflammation and reduce sickness. So it's no wonder I breezed down to London and floated back up (with the help of an LNER Azuma train of course!).


It was a great day, we attended Portculis House and myself and another patient (Rachel) presented to the room which was attended by NHS England, Politicians, Researchers, Pharma Companies and many more. It was hosted by Liz Twist MP for Blaydon. Liz gave a passionate introduction about respiratory illness in our part of the world. It was lovely to meet so many people passionate about changing the future of respiratory illness in the UK. We picked a right day for it aswell as Boris was getting a grilling across the corridor for the #partygate scandal! So it was a busy day in parliament.


We got home quite late and the following day the steroids gone I felt rubbish again. It's an awful feeling the chemo feeling. It's not like anything you can describe really. Everything smells funny, tastes funny, makes you nauseous. I often liken it to drinking 4 pints and going on the waltzers! Been a while since I've done that mind!


So Saturday gone was the Midnight Walk for Teesside Hospice. I couldn't do it. I was drained and felt completely nauseous, plus with my immunity being low I was told the worst thing would be to wander round in the cold at night with lots of people. It gutted me not to do it. But I was represented by 10+ girls/women who smashed it and did me proud. We raised £1200 in total from online and cash donations, thank you so much to those that donated, this is for a local hospice that needs £5500 a day to stay open. Almost £100,000 was raised on the night by so many amazing people. It really shows what people can do when they pull together, it makes you feel all warm inside. Proud to be a #teessider proud to be from #thenortheast




362 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page